Librarians? You Mean Those People Who Work in a Library?

Contrary to popular belief, not everyone who works in a library is actually a librarian. And for those of you that don’t know anything about finding work in a library, for some library jobs are easy to come by, but for many they are exceedingly difficult to find. Why is that?

Well, in today’s traditionally saturated library job market (i.e. public, academic, archival, or special collections) jobs can be especially hard to come by if one does not already have library experience or if one is not willing to either relocate or to seek out a non-traditional librarian job. But what if that’s not the only thing holding you back?

I know some of my biggest questions were, if there are no jobs in close proximity to where you are, are there others farther away but still in your area, if there are where else can you find them and how? How are you supposed to know everything there is know about what to look for, especially if you either have little to no library experience or if you had a targeted job in mind and now you’re having to look at other options?

There are certainly a multitude of librarian job sites to explore, but in my opinion, most of them are tailored for metropolitan areas. They may have your area listed, but it appears to me that there is always more attention paid to the jobs in or around the metropolitan areas than those like rural Southern Illinois. Granted, there may literally just be no jobs, but even when there are you’re less likely to find it on there then if you were to track the actual libraries’ sites on a daily or even weekly basis. If you’re anything like me (always busy) then you know how painstaking this process is and half the time you might find yourself missing the posts altogether! (This has happened to me too many times to count).
Is there anything out there that helps librarian job seekers tackle these issues?

I’m happy to say that, yes there is and it’s called INALJ.

INALJ is more than your average job post site. It is by far the most comprehensive librarian job site that I have ever seen. It has librarian job postings from throughout the U.S., in Canada, and even in the UK! And it’s updated on a regular basis!
The founder, publisher, and editor of INALJ.com is one Naomi House, who started the site in October of 2010 with co-founder, Elizabeth Leonard. According to Naomi, INALJ is a one stop shop where fans can find everything from her contact info to bios, reviews, and more.

While Elizabeth Leonard started the Facebook and twitter pages, Naomi got to work on composing what she calls the “comprehensive digest of jobs” that is INALJ. To date, the site has over 15 million views and has helped over 6,000 people get library jobs! The site is now maintained by Naomi and over six-hundred volunteers. Most recently, INALJ (formerly I need a library job) has expanded to LinkedIn.

According to her short bio on INALJ, Naomi has written for the LexisNexis Government Info Pro and presents whenever she can. Most recently she presented at the American Library Association’s Annual Conference. She has also presented at events in Cape Town, South Africa, Dubai, and Hawaii.

If you haven’t heard of INALJ or are just curious about libraries and library jobs, feel free to click on the link below and check it out!
INALJ
INALJ is also completely free, but donations are always appreciated. If you like what you see or would just like to help out, please do! Click on the link below to donate to Naomi’s INALJ PayPal
INALJ PayPal
Or you can check out Naomi’s #SaveINALJ article!
#SaveINALJ

Thanks for reading! If you’d like to contact me you can do so on here by commenting or following my blog or you can reach me on Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn.
Don’t forget to check out my YouTube! I post book reviews, random videos I make on the computer in my spare time, and I livestream games on YouTube and Twitch! You can find me @eveyeverlasting.
**Any mistakes are my own. If I’ve gotten facts wrong or stated something wrong, please feel free to private message me to inform me and I will do my best to correct them in a timely manner.**

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Many Yule Blessings everyone!

Leave a comment