Where I’m At

Okay, so far the library school thing hasn’t worked out for me. I don’t know about you guys, but I had a rough undergrad experience. I guess I really started to feel like there wasn’t much out there after a bachelor’s degree. At least, not in my area. After graduation, that feeling was amplified by about a thousand. I tried working full-time at what felt like a hundred different places and I could not find anything that fit or made me feel right. Hell, some I felt were doing illegal crap and I was not willing to put up with that. So, needless to say I was not on solid footing anymore and grad school was looking impossible because I’d have to take the GRE, pay application fees, and even then there was no guarantees I could get it. Plus the school I wanted to go to is three hours away from where I live and I didn’t know how to make that transition since I live in a multi-generational household and basically take care of everyone.

By July of 2016, I seriously had had enough. I had gone back to one of my first jobs–the one I never wanted to go back to–and was determined to get back into school no matter what. So I researched my undergrad university’s MBA program and set to work getting back in and I did. But it was not without it’s limitations. For one, I had two weeks to study for and take the GRE, fill out the application, and come up with the non-refundable application fee. I had no money so I went to work asking friends and family. I ended up just missing the required points by just seven. SEVEN! But it was enough that I couldn’t get into the MBA program in the fall. However, I was able to enter as a non-declared student. Until I ran into the problem that I had maxed out my financial aid as an undergrad and, since non-declared is still considered under the undergraduate budget limits, I did not have the money to go back to school. But I had to make it happen and my husband encouraged me–OH, btw I totally got married in April of 2016 and it was awesome!–so I took out a private loan and BOOM, I was in.

I took business administration classes for Fall 2016 and, even though it was hard and I had A LOT going on, I have to say that the whole experience was absolutely amazing! I’m realizing just now exactly how much there is to catch up on. Okay so also I had been interested in the Mass Communication and Media Arts (MCMA) program that is concurrent with the MBA program. I applied at the end of October, with two days left before the deadline. TOTALLY did not mean to do that btw. It was at that point that I realized I wouldn’t have the money to take the GRE again before the spring semester (especially after I had to come up with money to get tutoring for the GRE and to pay the application fee a second time for the MBA program so they could put it on hold), so I was looking into applying to MCMA and saw on their site that the deadline was the end of November. Thank goodness I actually called their office because I would’ve missed the deadline!! I got permission to go ahead and apply and was even told I could turn in an incomplete one. But I wasn’t having that, if I was going to pay for an application, I was sure as hell going to put maximum effort into turning in a complete application!

AND I GOT IN!!!! OMG it was seriously exciting when I got the email! I couldn’t believe they had said they were IMPRESSED with my application! Woo! So, anywho, I began my program this semester–literally, just last week and I am SERIOUSLY SO EXCITED!! I am learning some coding and may be able to build my own website! Which, I just realized yesterday that I’ve been messing with some coding stuff since I was 13! Myspace, anyone? I now realize it’s not appreciated enough now for having those features. So, yeah, I think that about does it on the catching up!!! More to come, I’m sure. I’ve done a few more videos too, nothing fancy. Oh! And I created an online portfolio for my graduate application, which I will be putting a link to for now until I can build my own website so check it out if you get a chance. I may be doing more on here too, now that I have to use it for school as well. If you want to check that out, it will under the primary menu label MCMA 512. Thanks for visiting my blog! Catch ya later!

Leave a Reply

